Tokugawa Corporate Forums

Retro Japanese Computing
It is currently December 17th, 2017, 3:35 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: July 26th, 2008, 10:58 pm 
Offline

Joined: June 18th, 2008, 11:39 pm
Posts: 33
I can't get the game going because I can't create a character. I've played the game many times on other formats, but when I try to use the X68k version, it asks for a user disk. So I try "disk 2" but it spits it back out, saying it's not a user disk. Same with creating new blank disks.

I've tried it with winx68k High Speed, EX68 and XM6, and none of them will accept the a user disk. Do I need to format one in a particular way?

:)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: July 27th, 2008, 1:48 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: March 10th, 2007, 11:50 pm
Posts: 232
Location: Non, proprio
Here is dump that seems to be working, at least in XM6, both disks inserted at boot time :
http://www.sendspace.com/file/0imjsu

Pass is FMV

Creating your character using the main menu's 3rd option is quite an experience. You have to select the option using "space", then type "enter" to confirm your name, but "space" again to pick your activity right after that, as "enter" will send you back to the main menu because it was picked as the Cancel keystroke. Hurray for intuitivity!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: July 27th, 2008, 4:48 am 
Offline

Joined: June 18th, 2008, 11:39 pm
Posts: 33
Thanks for the tip! I have the MSX version (the physical cart) and love it, and I have the Windows remakes, so I'm very interested in it. And you have to do the exact same thing (Space, Enter, Space) in all the versions I've played. :D

I'll give this a shot. :) Thanks!

Edit: IT WORKS! :) Thank you, thank you!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: July 27th, 2008, 4:57 pm 
Offline

Joined: June 24th, 2007, 4:48 pm
Posts: 74
Thank you kozo and Danjuro!
I've had the exact same issue with this X68000 game for a couple of years now. I just never bothered to find a different version.

Quote:
and I have the Windows remakes

There's a Windows remake of Hydlide III?!
Now if only there was one for Shine of Darkness... I've been stuck in that game forever.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: July 27th, 2008, 6:56 pm 
Offline

Joined: June 18th, 2008, 11:39 pm
Posts: 33
Yes, there is a remake of I and III. I have the 1.2.3 pack, which has the original PC88 versions of all three, and remakes of I and III. Not II though, which is a shame. :( I am stuck in that too.

My problem in III now is that I can't find the freaking bank. ;) I know where it is in the MSX2 version, but in the X68k it's been replaced with the inn (and in turn, the inn with the magic shop.)

Anyway, thanks guys! :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: August 2nd, 2009, 5:33 am 
Offline

Joined: August 1st, 2009, 9:03 am
Posts: 25
Can someone please repost the working version of Hydlide 3? I'll add it to the next tosec collection.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: August 6th, 2009, 5:19 pm 
Offline

Joined: June 23rd, 2009, 2:00 am
Posts: 14
I think that the disk image is normal.
Hydlide3 has to make a user disk first.

1. Push the ESC key with main menu.
2. Insert disk-B in drive 0.
3. Insert a new disk in drive 1.
4. You confirm that "はい" is red and push the SPACE key.
5. If disk-B is spitted out, insert disk-A in drive 0.

With the above you can make character.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group