Tokugawa Corporate Forums

Retro Japanese Computing
It is currently June 25th, 2018, 5:50 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 18 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: June 11th, 2008, 3:34 pm 
Offline

Joined: June 11th, 2008, 3:16 pm
Posts: 117
Location: Barcelona
I bought Power Dolls for the FM-Towns years ago and formatted accidentally the boot floppy disk that came with the CD-ROM game. :( The game seems to be compatible with the Marty console ("Marty" is written in the box) but it doesn't run without the properly boot disk.

How can I make a new boot disk? Is there any option in the Marty menu for do that?

Thanks!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: June 12th, 2008, 3:18 pm 
Offline

Joined: June 11th, 2008, 3:16 pm
Posts: 117
Location: Barcelona
Can anybody speak japanese?

I've scanned the rear of the box, a few pages from the user's manual, and take a screenshot of the screen that appears when trying to run the game.

http://www.subirimagenes.com/otros-powe ... 09963.html
http://www.subirimagenes.com/otros-boxback-609964.html
http://www.subirimagenes.com/fotos-01-609965.html
http://www.subirimagenes.com/fotos-02-609966.html
http://www.subirimagenes.com/fotos-03-609967.html
http://www.subirimagenes.com/fotos-04-609968.html
http://www.subirimagenes.com/fotos-05-609969.html
http://www.subirimagenes.com/fotos-06-610048.html

Please, help me. I don't want to throw this great game away. :(


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: June 12th, 2008, 4:28 pm 
Offline

Joined: April 15th, 2008, 2:23 pm
Posts: 79
1) The sentence on the box, including "Marty", means:
"This is NOT compatible for Marty."

2) The first screen says:
"You have to make the USER DISK for your first play.
Reset with clicking both right and left buttons on the mouse, and "Towns Menu" starts.
Please make the user disk according to the manual."

3) It's strange: The box you scanned is the one for FM Towns as you see, but the manual you scanned is for PC-9801. I don't know if this manual is useful for your Power Dolls, because Power Dolls for PC-9801 consists of only FLOPPY DISKS, no CD-ROM.

Hope it's helpful for you.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: June 12th, 2008, 5:37 pm 
Offline

Joined: June 11th, 2008, 3:16 pm
Posts: 117
Location: Barcelona
Thank you very much for your help turboZII!!! :D

I didn't know they sold me the game with wrong version of the user's manual. In the cover of the manual don't say if it's for the pc98 or for FM-Towns. u_u

Now I have another problem.
I've made what you say but when I'm into the Towns Menu and try to create a user disk and to install the game in a hard disk (I've tryed with a new hdd image of 700 Mb and with a hdd with TOS installed in it, and get the same error message) I get these messages:

http://www.subirimagenes.com/fotos-menu2-611098.html
http://www.subirimagenes.com/fotos-menu1-611097.html

What I'm doing wrong?

Thanks!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: June 13th, 2008, 10:18 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: January 5th, 2007, 12:26 am
Posts: 112
Location: Nevada
If you have 700mb HD image, did you bother to make a second partiton? The first partition with TownsOS won't have enough space to install Power Dolls 2, so create second partition. You can also add more if you like since each partition is max 127MB, and with a 700MB image file you can about 5 to 6 partitions.

Here is a easy howto create HD partitions in TownsOS

File -> Key+Reset -> 7 H0+Reset

When you reach TOS desktop, goto the 4th column and select the second option.

Image

At this screen we’re going to add another hard drive letter.

Image

Look at number 0 HD icon and notice it has letter D in its upper right corner. Click on 0 HD icon and select the bolded choice.

Image

Look at number 0 HD again and there should be a letter E.

Image

Exit out of the window and move on to 4th column menu, 3rd option

Image

Here we’re going to setup the partition.

Image

Select the empty cell 2 and give a name, select MS-DOS, and select ALL for 127MB. I gave my 2nd partition the name, “Games”.

Image

Select the bolded choice at the bottom to save and exit this window, and reboot to make the changes.

Boot back into TOS and now we have to format the new drive E:

So first highlight drive E:

Image

Then goto 3rd column, 1st option

Image

This menu allows you the format that new drive. Don’t make any changes, just click on the bolded choice at the bottom where my arrow in the picture is point at.

Image

That’s it. Your new hard drive partition is ready to be used.

Now go ahead and try installing Power Dolls 2 to drive E: :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: June 13th, 2008, 2:34 pm 
Offline

Joined: June 11th, 2008, 3:16 pm
Posts: 117
Location: Barcelona
Thanks for that useful guide rolins!! :)

When I try to install the game I get this message:

http://www.subirimagenes.com/fotos-fall ... 15628.html

If I navigate with ms-dos (floppy) I can see the new folder created into the new unit e: "e:\kogado\pd\" but nothing is inside. Nothing is installed and obviously the game doesn't boot. :(


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: June 13th, 2008, 3:18 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: January 5th, 2007, 12:26 am
Posts: 112
Location: Nevada
I don't know how your getting these errors and I can't reproduce them myself. I was able to install Power Dolls 2 without any problems to HD image. The errors and warnings all display the "A" so I'm guessing it's your floppy disk. Try using this pre-formatted disk image and insert to Drive0 while you boot Power Dolls 2. The game should recognize it and transfer the user files, then try to install the game to E: again.

http://www.sendspace.com/file/648tre


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: June 13th, 2008, 4:36 pm 
Offline

Joined: June 11th, 2008, 3:16 pm
Posts: 117
Location: Barcelona
Thanks rolins but I obtained the same error using your floppy. :cry:

I'm trying to install the game Power Dolls (not Power Dolls 2).


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: June 13th, 2008, 6:49 pm 
Offline

Joined: June 11th, 2008, 3:16 pm
Posts: 117
Location: Barcelona
As you can see in the following image, inside "Q:\PD_Towns" (the cd-rom) there are three icons:
-the first is for launch the game (this doesn't work for me because it shows the same screen that I see if I don't enter TOS menu by clicking the two buttons of the mouse and then asking me for the user disk)
-the third (on the right) icon is for install in hdd
-the second (on the left) I don't know what is for but have to be related in making the system disk for launch the game. It shows a white hand and a pile of blue books. This is the screen it shows when I double click this icon:

http://www.subirimagenes.com/otros-warning-617045.html

Can somebody translate that message?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: June 13th, 2008, 11:18 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: January 5th, 2007, 12:26 am
Posts: 112
Location: Nevada
Katsura82 wrote:
Thanks rolins but I obtained the same error using your floppy. :cry:

I'm trying to install the game Power Dolls (not Power Dolls 2).


D'oh! :lol: Sorry about that I didn't notice. I only have Power Dolls 2 on me.

I don't know if this will work, but try to find a option in the game's title menu that will create a user disk for you. There's a couple of FM-Towns games that actually do this. It's worth a shot I guess.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: June 14th, 2008, 9:15 am 
Offline

Joined: June 11th, 2008, 3:16 pm
Posts: 117
Location: Barcelona
The first screen I posted in this thread is the only screen we can see when trying to run the game, using a floppy disk or not. That screen don't show any option. It only asks for the floppy disk necessary to boot the game and says to create it under the Towns Menu if it's necessary.

In the Towns Menu I succesfully have made a user disk without any problem with the 3rd column, 1st option (selecting the unit A: instead the unit E: of the hdd and formatting to 1'2 Mb DD).

The problem with this game is that it doesn't boot with a simple user disk. This game needs to have a System Disk to boot. There have to be a way to do that in the Towns Menu.

I'm still wondering what the icon of the blue books is for and what does that "warning" message (that appeears when you double-click it) mean (I can't read japanese).


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: June 28th, 2008, 6:43 pm 
Offline

Joined: January 9th, 2007, 9:57 pm
Posts: 509
Location: Russia
The game impossible to start.
in kit of the supply except cd goes and floppy disk.
But his you have no.
And impossible create user disc


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: June 28th, 2008, 6:52 pm 
Offline

Joined: January 13th, 2007, 1:32 pm
Posts: 143
Just had a crack at this but wasn't successful :cry:

I tried doing the following:

a) Created / formatted the extra partition i.e. E: in the "Bootable Hard Disk with TownsOS 2.1 L51" HDD.
b) Created / formatted a 1.2MB HD FD.
c) Ran the install, selected the E: partition, went through a few screens and it asked for something in Drive A:, inserted the formatted 1.2MB HD FD but couldn't get any further (see screenshots below):

Image Image Image Image Image


I also took a look at the folders / files on the CD-ROM:

a) In the PD_USER directory there is a file called MAKEUSER.EXP but unfortunately running it does nothing.

Image

b) In the T_UTY directory there is a file called FORMAT.EXP. Used this to format a new 1.2MB HD FD and tried the installation using this disk but still no joy.

Image


Anyway, sadly I'm out of suggestions with this :sad:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: June 29th, 2008, 11:02 am 
Offline

Joined: January 9th, 2007, 9:57 pm
Posts: 509
Location: Russia
for start the game needs the file gamemain.exp.
this file no on cd disk.
this file there is only on diskette that was on sale together with disk.
you will not be able to create user disk without floppy disk falling into original supply with game.

view the program of the creation user disk for game (PD_USER/MAKEUSER.EXP).

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: June 29th, 2008, 8:11 pm 
Offline

Joined: January 11th, 2008, 12:37 am
Posts: 37
After pressing both mouse buttons as translated by turboZII, you go to TownsOS. There's an floppy icon, but I get the following msg after pressing it:

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 18 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group