Tokugawa Corporate Forums

Retro Japanese Computing
It is currently May 20th, 2018, 11:38 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 67 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: May 12th, 2016, 4:52 pm 
Offline

Joined: April 12th, 2009, 9:04 am
Posts: 176
Location: Italy
1983parrothead wrote:
To answer your question, yes. My friend inspected it with a magnifying glass and it looks like this:

http://i.imgur.com/zdPIZpm.jpg

It uses a 20 pin connector.


I found also this post about:


http://x68k-pcengine.blogspot.it/2015/01/fm-towns-ii-hr20.html

You can clearly see the inside of the PSU.Wires color seems to be standar ATX ones so RED/+5V, BLACK/GND, YELLOW/+12V.There there are BROWN, GRAY and ORANGE, probably two of them are POWER ON and STAND-BY.
Anyway, for first I'd try to repair your original PSU.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: June 2nd, 2016, 6:31 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: August 14th, 2012, 6:15 am
Posts: 133
This just in that a local repair shop owner said take a heat gun (or hair dryer) and use it close (but not too close) to the PSU while it's turned on to make it last longer. He said something like that.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: June 23rd, 2016, 1:19 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: August 14th, 2012, 6:15 am
Posts: 133
*bump*

Besides caius, anyone else know what schematics and MOSFETS I can find for the FM TOWNS II HR model PSU?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: June 23rd, 2016, 1:46 pm 
Offline

Joined: April 12th, 2009, 9:04 am
Posts: 176
Location: Italy
1983parrothead wrote:
*bump*

Besides caius, anyone else know what schematics and MOSFETS I can find for the FM TOWNS II HR model PSU?


If we manage to find the schematics, automatically we will know also what MOSFET this PSU uses :)
Anyway, write down the part name of the MOSFET inside your PSU and I will tell you if and which are equivalent.

P.S.
Out of curiosity, do you know what a MOSFET is?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: June 23rd, 2016, 5:46 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: August 14th, 2012, 6:15 am
Posts: 133
They just sent the PSU to more professional workers.

The model number of this whole unit is FMTW2HR20.

Should I replace the whole unit with this?

https://www.amazon.com/Mini-PicoPSU-150 ... B0045WFZSQ


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: June 23rd, 2016, 6:07 pm 
Offline

Joined: April 12th, 2009, 9:04 am
Posts: 176
Location: Italy
1983parrothead wrote:
They just sent the PSU to more professional workers.

The model number of this whole unit is FMTW2HR20.


This is the model of FM-TOWNS PC not the PSU.

Quote:

Should I replace the whole unit with this?

https://www.amazon.com/Mini-PicoPSU-150 ... B0045WFZSQ


First you or your repairman must figure out which are the voltages generated by the original PSU and then find a proper replacement.But keep in mind that it won't be a straight replacemet since you will need to adapt it (like we do with Sharp X68000, for example).Anyway, I'd try for first to repair the original PSU, I think this is doable with a little bit of knowledge and patience.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: June 29th, 2016, 3:33 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: August 14th, 2012, 6:15 am
Posts: 133
Okay, here's what he needs:

A schematics info for the PSU's circuit board

All that goes into the TDK CA02951-0620.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: June 29th, 2016, 3:41 pm 
Offline

Joined: April 12th, 2009, 9:04 am
Posts: 176
Location: Italy
Can I give you a friendly advice?Please, refer to another repairer.If he was really good, he should reoair the PSU without any schematics (like I do).
Anyway, schematics of this PSU model are NOT available anywhere.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: June 29th, 2016, 6:35 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: August 14th, 2012, 6:15 am
Posts: 133
I see. Should I ship the PSU or the whole FM TOWNS to someone far from here?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: June 29th, 2016, 7:21 pm 
Offline

Joined: April 12th, 2009, 9:04 am
Posts: 176
Location: Italy
1983parrothead wrote:
I see. Should I ship the PSU or the whole FM TOWNS to someone far from here?



It's up to you, I whish have a look at it but I'm very far from you so it's not worth it.I have a FM-TOWNS II MX and FRESH-TV, I think they use the same PSU of your FM-TWONS II HR.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: June 30th, 2016, 12:17 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: August 14th, 2012, 6:15 am
Posts: 133
Perhaps shipping the PSU to someone in Japan might help. Otherwise, I would have no other choice than to use what AssemblerGames forum administrator suggested: a 150 watt mini Pico PSU.

EDIT:

Maybe this site might help:

http://www.crazydiypc.jp/product_repair.html


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: June 30th, 2016, 7:17 am 
Offline

Joined: April 12th, 2009, 9:04 am
Posts: 176
Location: Italy
1983parrothead wrote:
Perhaps shipping the PSU to someone in Japan might help. Otherwise, I would have no other choice than to use what AssemblerGames forum administrator suggested: a 150 watt mini Pico PSU.


Yes, a picoPSU solution would be the best solution but did you figure out which voltages are outputted from original FM-TOWNS PSU?It could be that some of them are not present on the picoPSU.
Besides, even if voltagesare the same, this solution is not a direct replacement so you need to adapt it (I mean cutting and rewiring connectors, fitting PSU inside the FM-TOWNs, etc..).


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: June 30th, 2016, 12:04 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: August 14th, 2012, 6:15 am
Posts: 133
Then I am afraid my repairman cannot go any further without the PSU's schematics map.

I am asking others such as shmups forum for its info.

Shipping the PSU can be dangerous or mistaken as a bomb.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: June 30th, 2016, 12:17 pm 
Offline

Joined: April 12th, 2009, 9:04 am
Posts: 176
Location: Italy
1983parrothead wrote:
Then I am afraid my repairman cannot go any further without the PSU's schematics map.


Without any offense to him and his work, I suggest you to give your PSU to a skilled repairer.Everyone with a minimum of knowledge of how a PSU works can figure out this.

Quote:
I am asking others such as shmups forum for its info.


It's pointless, schematics are not available anywhere, you are only flooding all forums with same request.

Quote:
Shipping the PSU can be dangerous or mistaken as a bomb.


Not really, I have shipped PSUs a lot of time wthout any issue.Where do you live?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: June 30th, 2016, 12:38 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: August 14th, 2012, 6:15 am
Posts: 133
I see. I live across the Atlantic Ocean from you. Northwest Georgia State in USA.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 67 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group