Tokugawa Corporate Forums

Retro Japanese Computing
It is currently March 28th, 2024, 8:42 pm

All times are UTC

PostPosted: May 12th, 2015, 12:51 pm 

Recently, i started playing some visual novels on PC-88 (also PC-98), and i noticed two things:
1) Most of those games offer an option (once you boot it up), which the first one is to simply start the game from the beginning, and the other one is "to pick up where you saved"..even if it's the first time that you're playing.
What is this?
Now, my japanese isn't great, but from what i could understand, it's basically a start or resume screen. (maybe im wrong?)
But that's not the first game that got that kind of stuff.
I've also played YU-NO on PC98, and it got the same kind of screen: you can either start (with the prologue and stuff), or just go straight after the prolugue (and it gives you a lot of stuff in your inventory that you're not supposed to have at the beginning of the game). (i dont have a screenshot right now, sadly)
Why this happens? It's not a bad thing, since it drops you in the middle of the game, making you skip intros that you may already seen, but why it's like a resume button if you didn't even made a save before?

2) The font.
This only applies to PC-88 games. (only kanji)
This is an example:
Take a look at the 4) option: what is that?
Im using the google translate "write on screen" thing to recognise kanji that i dont know, and basically i have no idea on what to draw there.
What im supposed to draw (or to interpret) when there are those big white spaces?
There is anyway to change the font to something more noob-friendly?
(There is any translation for JESUS on the PC-88/MSX? I tried the famicom translation but it's not really that good)

Thanks!

PostPosted: May 12th, 2015, 3:09 pm